CMU Blazer Athletics photo

Blazers News

Trump, Kroeker Earn MCAC Women's Soccer All-Conference Selection

The Manitoba Colleges Athletic Conference kicked off their Women's Soccer Final Four festivities on Friday with the announcement of the league's best-11; the 2019 Women's Soccer All-Conference Team. Among those recognized for outstanding play this season were CMU rookie midfielder Ezri Trump and 2nd year defender Tiegan Kroeker.

Trump made a big impact in her first season. The former Dakota Collegiate and Windsor Park Community Club player needed little time to transition to the speed and competitiveness of the MCAC. In fact, "speed" and "competitiveness" would be two of the first words that would come out of coach's mouths when asked to describe the best attributes of Trump's abilities. The midfielder was a presence all over the field, showing herself to be an aggressive ball-winner, an relentless tackler and a knack for creating attacking chances.

On a team that struggled to score goals in 2019, Trump was able to find the back of the net in a 2-0 away win over the Assiniboine Cougars in late September; one of 2 wins for a team that finished 2-2-6 in 2019.

New team captain, Tiegan Kroeker established herself as one of the MCAC's best in her second season. The uber-athletic speedster was dropped deeper in the CMU formation for the 2019 season and was a central part of a Blazer defense that opponents found challenging to break through.

Another strength in Kroeker's game is her ability to seize opportunities to push into the attack and threaten offensively. Kroeker's first goal of the season came in Week 7. In need of a win, the former Fort Richmond Collegiate player scored the game-winning goal late in the match against the Brandon Bobcats in a 1-0 away victory.

Here is the complete list:

2019 MCAC Women's Soccer All-Conference Team

MVP | Katie Moniot (USB)

Tiegan Kroeker (CMU)

Ashley Patterson (RRC)

Chelsea Plett (BU)

Cassie Nazeravich (USB)

Kezia Balzer (RRC)

Jessica Waytiuk (PUC)

Ezri Trump (CMU)

Hasana Church (BU)

Kendra Mansoff (ACC)

Mylene Chabot (USB)


co-Coaches of The Year

Doug Lawrie (RRC) / Justin Legare (USB)





Print This Article